I Forge Iron

Bob Kramer a "Kitchen Bladesmith" Paying my respect

templehound

I am not sure where to post this, but I am sure Glen will find the right place.

I am full time for 30 years now and I learned the profession of a traditional German cutler/Bladesmith by trade.

(that's nothing particularly great, in Germany there are still lots of traditional cutlers who learned the profession by trade)

but under the influence of this learned knowledge I found confirmation of theory and practice.

Here is finally a story of a knife maker who did imho everything perfectly right, according to my learned knowledge and practical experience.

The aspects of western and traditional japanese cutlery, the differences between the food and the knives that are used for it, the story about sharpening steels,

the alignment of the edge (so often overlooked and done wrong) and much more.

It is the first time I had nothing to complain about the subject and that means something.:rolleyes:

I enjoyed reading every line and last but not least because of the exeptional good writing of the story by Todd Oppenheimer.

Cheers

https://craftsmanship.net/the-kitchen-bladesmith/

Well, I got up to this line so far and was a bit confused:  "The standard blacksmithing image has the smith beating the red metal with a hammer at this point; while many still do this, to eliminate bubbles and other irregularities, it’s seldom necessary with today’s industrially rolled steel".  Instead the author notes that Kramer does an initial normalizing heat and drops his sawed out blank on the floor...  I think he needs an editor, but maybe I just haven't been at this long enough to experience bubbles in my steel that can be removed by pounding on them.