I Forge Iron

Can someone please advise on a clear coat for my steel sculpture?

Hi All,

A quick question.....   Can anyone recommend a clear coat to put on my intentionally rusted steel sculpture?   My other question is, do all clearcoats darken the steel?  I suspect they do.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Simon.

9 hours ago, Nodebt said:

Hi Simon.  Are you trying to stop your sculpture rusting at a certain point in the rusting process?

You know, pictures help! :)

Sorry about that.  More information would be helpful of course.  As you can see in the image, my Sculpture is of an Australian Wedge Tail Eagle.  He is made from Mild steel than his beak which is Stainless steel.  It is all thin steel really. His "Under body " is about an 1/8 of an inch but everything covering his body, as in feathers is 1mm.  Sorry I am not good with converting metric to imperial.

He is intentionally rusted but I dont want him to rust away completely.  Too many hours of work for that!  If there is no fix for this, I guess I have to accept that he is an indoor Eagle.

0L7A2759.JPG

Welcome to ifi, there's a lot of great people on here and lot's to learn.  Awesome sculpture!

Well, I was just asking out of curiosity and future knowledge.  I just let my sculptures rust, unless as you say it's an indoor piece.  This may be of some little help, a start anyway:

Nice work, beautiful sculpture!

I prefer VHT Flame Proof exhaust paint in satin clear for my sculptures. Over rust has been fine in my experience.  It has curing instructions but i have had good experience just air drying. Being outside, sunlight can really heat metal up. 

It does darken the appearance a bit. 

The hard part is getting it fully coated. I'd suggest being able to hang it different ways to get in the nooks and crannies with coats. 

Make sure the piece is Dry and Warm when spraying. A heat gun can help to prep the piece.