I Forge Iron

A young blacksmith, stuck in 1774

Hi everyone,

My name is Ian, I am from north-central WV. I began blacksmithing a little over two years ago as my first full time job. I was a essentially self taught apprentice, but also got a lot of advice from a very experienced smith who has done this as a life long profession.

This job was at a historic sight, and not only did I blacksmith, I interpreted the history of our historically accurate blacksmith shop set in the late 1700s.

I still work there, but also have my own slightly more modern shop, have set up an online store, and got my business license yesterday. 

I’m currently 20 years old, but hope to continue in this trade as a large portion of my income. (Good luck with that)

Welcome aboard from 7500' in SE Wyoming.  It sounds like you have a very good start in the craft.  Read the threads in the Business Side of Blacksmithg.  Running a business is a very different set of skills than being a craftsman or having a profession.  I suggest that you seriously think about taking some business courses at your local Jr. College.  Running a business is not something that everyone enjoys or is good at.  Many crafts people and professionals end up working for someone else because they can't or won't do well at running a business.

We'd love to see pictures of your shop and your work.

"By hammer and hand all arts do stand."

Welcome aboard Ian, glad to have you. Ditto George about learning to run a business, it's a lot harder than making hot steel do your bidding. Heck if you're good enough at it, running other people's businesses could easily pay for your blacksmithing addiction. ;)

We LOVE pictures, send pictures please.

Frosty The Lucky.

Here’s some photos of my shop at work. I don’t own this shop or much in it, but it’s were Ive learned the trade.