I Forge Iron

First fire in the coal forge

Steamcheng

Greetings all.  I am a new member here and new to the hobby.  It is something I have always wanted to do, but a career in the navy (and another after) didn't allow me the time to engage.  Now I'm retired and live in a place with enough room for me to enjoy a few hobbies.  I figured one way to introduce myself here was to post something I made, so here goes.

I've been an amateur machinist for close to 20 years now, and frequent auctions where I can find tools.  I also collect and work on hit and miss engines, and go to some big shows and swap meets.  These venues have afforded me the opportunity to kit myself out with some basic blacksmith tools.  I'll make the rest.  I got a nice, clean 148# Soderfors anvil a couple of years ago, and I recently picked up a nice little rivet forge similar to a Champion, but with the ratchet driven blower underneath.  It needed a fire grate over the tuyere, and I machined one out of 1/4 plate.  It also needed the lever and pintle, which I made, and a leather belt.  So today I decided to get a fire lit and play around a little.  I had previously made a little gas forge to fiddle with, but all I made with it are the hooks I hammered into my stump to chain my anvil down to.  I like the traditional flavor of the coal forge better.

So...one thing I don't have, and need, is a fire rake/poker for the forge.  So that's where I started.  I took a 9" piece of 1/2" round stock and drew it out to about 21 inches, then made a flat for the rake and bent it 90 degrees.  Then I made an eye in the handle end, and realized I was a little off and wasn't it lined up with the rake, so decided to put a full twist in the middle as part of the fix.  Since it wasn't planned that way (didn't think of it, duh!) it isn't as nice looking as it would have been if I had left the middle squared for the twist, but overall I'm not too bent about it.