I Forge Iron

Is this leg vise repairable?

Messy Jesse

Hi,

I'm a total newbie just getting up and running. I picked up this (early?) 4" leg vise for a good price, but am just now noticing the issues. I still need to fab up a mount and spring.

The first seems to be that the stationary jaws are bent backwards, maybe an inch. Inside the stationary hole (sorry, don't know my terminology yet!) I have a crack. It isn't visible from the outside, only the inside.

On the movable jaw side, I see that the inner "sleeve" is in several pieces. I'm not sure if this is normal, or if it is supposed to be more solid. It's in there, not moving or anything, but doesn't look strong.

I can MIG weld, but I don't think that works for wrought iron. I imagine I could bend those jaws back into position.

Any suggestions (look for a new vise!?)?

Edit: Obviously most things are repairable, but my original question should be, is it worth the effort? 

IMG_20210329_201930900.jpg

IMG_20210329_201947069.jpg

IMG_20210329_213701241.jpg

IMG_20210329_213745197.jpg

To me the third photo looks like a very old repair. It looks like the original slit and drifted hole broke right at the top, and the jaw was fixed by forge welding two bars around the original jaw.

You could straighten the bent jaw by forging it very hot (Probably forge welding temperature if there are delaminations), but depending on how large that vise is it might be difficult to heat it up (depending on the capacity of your forge).

High heat and a good hydraulic press could straighten that.  The sleeving isn't much of an issue I'd run a stick welder around the outsides just to keep in in place.  I consider 80% of the value of a vise to be the condition of the screw and screw box.  Wrought iron can be arc welded I'd V out the crack and do a build up with a stick welder,  Note it will use more filler as the ferrous silicates go away.