I Forge Iron

What is the best material and heat treatment for forging jackhammer shafts and bodies?

Hello,

I am new to forging and have a very limited knowledge about the proper materials and heat treatments required for forged materials.  I appreciate those who might take the time to educate me.

My company is in the process of determining the best material and heat treatment to provide the strongest and most crack/break resistant part, designed to fit a jack hammer to remove flooring and other materials.  The hex shaft is about 10" long and about 1 1/4" wide.  The body is about 7" long, 6" wide, and about 2" thick.  According to our CAD model, they are designed as a single forged unit that will weigh in at around 11 pounds, not counting the blade or the bolts.

We have heard that 1045 is a good material for forging.  Is this the best material to handle repeated impact and stress?  If so, what would be the heat treatment (through hardened versus case hardened) required to produce the best result?  If possible, I want to err on the side of strength and the most resistance to breaking.

I heard that using 4130 or 4140 is about twice as expensive as 1045, so for that reason I felt that 1045 might be the best fit.  We have chemically analyzed a jack hammer shaft and the report came back as a probable 1045 material.  I have also heard that because of the high impact involved that using a case hardening process might better preserve ductility, so that might rule out other material that can only be through hardened.  Again, I'm not an expert and am repeating what information I have run across.