I Forge Iron

Hello from Germany

Bad_Rockk

Hello,

I'm 33 years old, married, two little sons. I have no blacksmithing experience and got here on recommendation of a YouTube knife maker. I want to start into knife making because I like sharp knifes for cooking and I can't afford high quality knifes or the one's I like. I have some experience in sharpening with wet stones. After watching several videos about knife making I thought that I could give it a try. Forging blades is also very interesting, but not right now. 

First I thought I could skip the heat treatment by using an old file/rasp. But the farriers rasps i got are pretty hard and it takes forever to grind them with an angle grinder. So I ordered some soft firebricks and a little torch to build a small forge. Also ordered a face mask and eye protection. This is were I am right now.

I would like to show the steps of my first knife making and hopefully get some tips and tricks along the way. I already found the "Knife Making Class 101" section, is this the right place for such a threat?

Greetings,

Tim

Welcome aboard Tim, glad to have you and hopefully your children as they grow a little. 

You can buy knife blanks to grind and finish. There are professional heat treaters a bladesmith forum or club in your area should be able to put you in contact. WE call making knives this way "stock removal" you get to build a set of necessary skills that don't require a forge, anvil, etc. 

Once you start forging blades, your skills with stock removal will come in handy. 

Yeah, knife making 101 is a good place to hook up with bladesmiths and beginner bladesmiths. Two members here are published authors regarding bladesmithing and one has been featured in educational television specials. So, yes you can get your questions answered even if it's just being pointed to something to read.

Frosty The Lucky.

Hello Frosty,