I Forge Iron

And this is why air compressors should be well maintained

When i was a welder we where thought that cylinders should always be mounted vertical so that in case of something going wrong they could take off, which is far better then them flying around at eye level.

3000 psi? make that 4300 psi. Seen those for both air and shielding gas.

On the video, could be me, but are those grind and weld marks on the bottom? Exploding gas pressure tanks always go spectacular, 50 Liter at 50 bar is about 250 Liters of air, if that volume finds a way out, it will all go out in a split second. Never ever seen or hear of a air compressor failing, but that is mainly because in factory's they but a dehumidifier next to the compressor, air goes from the dehumidifier to the compressor, dry air means no rust.

Maybe this on got some condensation going, which pooled at the bottom and rusted its way through the metal.

A couple few years ago a 60gal. compressor tank failed catastrophically. It did severe damage to the building though the frame was repairable, the cladding wasn't and there were minor injuries. Not opening the tank drain regularly is the bane of air compressors, if you keep the condensation cleared out they don't rust. 

I'm thinking most of the shrapnel damage was gravel and debris blown of the shop floor. 

Lucky guy.

Frosty The Lucky.

Nothing like unqualified or careless folk using dangerous things. 

Occasionally water heaters shoot themselves through a floor or two and onto a neighbor's property. Mythbusters did a great episode about water heater rocket launches. It takes multiple safety device failures for a water heater to explode. Too often they've been disabled to "fix" the problem on no hot water. 

Frosty The Lucky.

6 hours ago, Glenn said: