I Forge Iron

have to lay off the forge for a few days...

Archie Zietman

Hello.
today I just finished my first knife, and know exactly what I'm doing on my second one of the same style. The drawback is that when I got in, my brother was having a get together with his class, who quickly pointed out to me that my hands were bright red, the skin burned through on a few fingers, old burn scars having a little historical reenactmnent and the skin of my knuckles inflamed and splitting open in more that twenty places. I had not noticed this before. now I will have to lay off the forge for a few days, and smear funny pastes on them (my dad is a doctor, not a craftsman so doesn't believe in work hardening one's own flesh) but at least my first knife is done, and I know exactly how to make my second one much better. :D

Work hardening? You'll get tough enough without asking for it, if you stay with this stuff. Years ago, as a mechanic I would put hubcaps on with punches that I learned in Tae Kwon Do. Tore up my wrists a bit, they healed mostly, but I am reminded of those days again as I get older and feel the pains again. If you were working with me, I would shut you down and find the cause, just as T-gold says.

Everyone has different pain thresholds but I can't imagine you would be frying yourself with heat and still continuing to work at all. Sounds like you might just have very dry skin from a little cold weather compounded by the work/heat. I also took karate as a youngster and once had very hard hands but they become more tender as I grow older - no more board breaking. :cry: However, the calluses from the hammer and tongs remain.