I Forge Iron

Need help with tuning Frosty T-burner

Erik F.

Hi everyone,

Newbie here in Portland, Oregon. I just finished building my first forge and need some advice with tuning my Frosty T-burner. Here are the specs:

Forge: Wayne Coe-style Freon forge, built exact to his instructions -- 1-2" Inswool, Kast-O-Lite refractory, Plistix

Burner: Frosty T-burner, 3/4" nipple, 0.035 Tweco MIG contact tip, no flare (tried to build one into the refractory, but my guess is it's probably a little too wide)

Other stuff: 1/4-turn ball valve at the burner, 3/8" propane hose, 0-30psi regulator

The pics are taken with about 5psi of pressure. The burner nipple is situated so that it's barely inside the tank (and prob. 1.5" deep to the refractory).

I was hoping I could get some advice about the flame -- shape, color, etc.. Please forgive my ignorance. :) I'm assuming I need to trim back the MIG tip a little -- it seems like that's the first recommendation from most of the posts I've read -- but I wanted to check with the gurus first before I went and did that.

Forgive me if the pictures aren't helpful, or if others would be better. I'm happy to retake if necessary.

Many thanks in advance,
Erik

IMG_1683.jpg

IMG_1594.jpg

IMG_1671.jpg

IMG_1672.jpg

I'm sure some of the flame experts will be along to discuss in more detail, but it looks fine to me.  You are getting a little burn off from your refractory, which is normal until it bakes completely after several firings up to temperature.  Just don't get ahead of yourself and fire things up too fast.  You need to thoroughly dry it out, then bake it slowly to avoid cracks.

Nice job Erik, that's a pretty good looking flame for only 5psi. How's it burn at 10psi? 

I don't pay much attention to what psi someone else's burner runs, there are too many variables for it to mean very much as a useful metric.