I Forge Iron

Newly built 2x72 grinder need belts

Here is the new grinder I built. I am completely new to the 2x72 format. Still kind of new to blacksmithing. I have been in it about 1.5 years. I got a forge, anvil, leg vise. I’ve made some hooks, hearts, bottle openers, and 2 knives.  I have a friend tell me 3m Cubitron is the best and Norton is pretty good. Although offered no place to shop for one.  I understand that ceramic is the best, zirconia is next best, aluminum silica is the bottom. I have found a online shop called Combat Abrasives. Where is the best place to buy belts? knife supply store? Amazon? Other Brands? Links?

starting out I was going to get a couple low grit(36,80,120) for stock removal and 220/400 for shaping and sharpening. Is this a good starting point? 

need to still make a tool rest for my grinder. Any comments, questions, or suggestions on my grinder build?

Joe

409CEAF8-9301-42AC-B0D0-BAAFD9905412.jpeg

94A1C21E-E14C-45B9-94AC-6CE954E9ED93.jpeg

D70FF61D-5C83-4999-86A9-96DEEE0C5E8C.jpeg

AFE55809-FF2E-4FED-9DB2-17A22A55054A.jpeg

Nice looking grinder, ironwoolf.  Haven't used them yet, but a good friend recommended I buy Aluminum Oxide belts fromTru-Grit to get started.  They are inexpensive and he claims they last a long time..............especially for the cost.  I know from experience that Nortan Blaze belts are excellent...........but they need to pressed into hard to be effective.   For most people, heavy stock removal doesn't allow for accurate/efficient grinding.  I noticed that myself because by not really pressing hard on the Blaze belts, they tend to glaze over, which pretty much messes them up and negates their initial expense.  I'm supposed to get my new grinder from the supplier tomorrow and it'll be a while until I can get it up and running, but I'll try and review the belts I bought for it..........................though I respect the opinion of my friend concerning them.