I Forge Iron

Is this a fuller?

Blacksmith's tool or vampire killer? Picked this up today with a bunch of chisels and punches. I thought it might be a fullering tool for the hardy hole, and it kind of fits, but I've never seen one like it and don't know why it would be so tall and so pointy. The "cross" is also welded at the bottom and the welds prevent it from sitting flat on the anvil. So a lot of things about this tool don't make sense as a fuller, but I'm a total noob and don't much about this stuff. Any thoughts? Could it have been made for some other purpose? There's a strip of hardened steel in the top edge. 

Thanks.

IMG_20200423_124501_296.jpg

IMG_20200423_124501_298.jpg

IMG_20200423_124501_299.jpg

P_20200423_122820.jpg

Whatever it was it is NOT FOR THE HARDY HOLE!!! Even a modest tap will wedge it in the hardy hole tight as a tick, might even break the anvil at the hardy hole. Whatever it is/was it was a stake tool, drive it in the ground or a block of wood. 

Looking at the die I'm almost tempted to call it some kind of creaser for sheet metal work. Say shrinking and turning a rim on a sheet metal disk. 

Frosty The Lucky.

18 hours ago, Dogsoldat said:

scythe sharpening stake maybe?  drive it into anything convenient next to the field.  Interesting at any rate

And we have a winner! After a bit of searching it does appear to be what's called a "field peening anvil" for scythe sharpening. 

Below is a pic of one in use and a couple other examples I found. So now as Thomas suggested "can we dream up to use it for"? I had a quick look on eBay and I don't think it has much value, maybe $20, so could it be modified to be something useful for a beginner blacksmith like myself, or should I try and find a scythe owner who would appreciate having it?

scythe-peening-BA.jpg

stake anvil.jpg

sfj_mowing_with_scythes_05.jpg