I Forge Iron

Gas Forge temperatures

Domnu

Hi, I am kinda new to gas forges and was wondering what temperatures a good gas forge for general forging and welding should achieve. I just built mike porter style gas burners for my forge and tested them. I hear a lot of people saying they get a "white hot" heat in a gas forge. I don`t really seem to get that. It is more like a yellow color. I only ever get real white heats in my coal forge .  I use insulating firebrick in the forge and the burners seem to work fine. The temperatures i get are around 1400 °C at 15psi with a 0.023" orifice as far as i can tell (measured with k-probe and IR-thermometer). Is that hot enough for good forge welding ( I haven`t really had time to try yet)? I do not seem to get the sparkling heats i sometimes get on the coal forge, but i figures that might just be due to a more reducing atmosphere. What temperatures do you guys get in your gas forges?

The highest I have measured in a Propane forge was 1556 degC (2833 degF) and still rising. I didn't want to risk the $400+ typeS thermocouple, so didn't wait to see what it would top out at. I measured a forge at a hammerin a few years ago. It was being used for pattern-welding blade steels and was right around 1300 degC (2372 degF). As I understand things, it had been adjusted to give a temperature suitable for "anyone" to weld in and I regard 1300 degC as a good target temperature for a (bladesmiths) welding forge. The more experienced pattern welders tend to use a lower temperature (probably around 1200 degC) because it gives crisper contrast between the different-coloured layers.