I Forge Iron

Junkyard anvil/swage block

5S forge (Clint)

Hello guys, 

This is my first time posting although I spend roughly 15-20 hrs per week browsing the forum because my job is equipment maintenance in a automotive factory.  So i can sit in my area and browse around the web while equipment is running good. 

First off , Thank you to the people that spend so much time posting projects and information  and most importantly guidance to people of all levels of knowledge so that they may be more proficient at whatever it is that there heart desires.

A little background on me , I have been a knife maker for almost 20 years now,   mostly stock removal but after completing horse shoeing school back in 2005  on occasion  I would hammer a few things out on my NC big face 78# farriers anvil but not many big projects.

After building a new ribbon burner forge to replace my old inefficient NA 2 burner ,  I found that I was really enjoying the  time  i was spending doing general blacksmith work . maybe being simply burnt out on making knives from stock removal has played  a significant roll in my sudden interest in being more proficient in the blacksmith area . Making  damascus/pattern welded steel , hammers and drifts etc. on my little anvil presents its challenges.

So now to the meat and potatoes of my post....

The sudden spike of interest of the general public wanting to do what they are watching on a certain Forging show every week The price of anvils are going for 10 times what they are worth I have decided to build a Anvil/swage block to aid in some of my future projects which include ornamental things like Hooks, Bottle openers , hammers , drifts, punches, hatchets , and of coarse knives.

I am a certified welder as well as pretty proficient on a mill and lathe.

The material I have on hand that i'm thinking about using for this project are as follows.

2 Fork lift tines  with solid 2" round stock on them.