I Forge Iron

How high should my anvil be roughly?

I’m just getting into blacksmithing and was making a stand for my little RR anvil. I was just curious how tall I should make the stand. I’ll post a pic later of how it is currently, but I was just wondering if there was kind of a standard to shoot for.

Welcome aboard... have you read this yet?  READ THIS FIRST    It will help you get the best out of the forum and stay off the moderators radar.:)

Also look around a little. This thread address you question.

https://www.iforgeiron.com/topic/40341-anvil-height-how-can-you-tell-if-it-is-the-right-height/

7 hours ago, Irondragon Forge & Clay said:

Also look around a little. This thread address you question.

https://www.iforgeiron.com/topic/40341-anvil-height-how-can-you-tell-if-it-is-the-right-height/

Party pooper ... :)

That thread about anvil height, never mentioned that for the one given blacksmith, and one given anvil the ideal height depends of the job at hand. of course once you build your stand you are sort of committed to the one height so you tend to believe that is the one and only height. 

I agree with the wrist height folks, however ... if it is winter and you have your heavy boots and triple socks on, or if it is summer and you have your tennis shoes on, your own heights can vary as much as an inch, ( I suppose ladies don't forge in heels :) ) so ... there goes the wrist height theory.  

I always played with the idea of building a tripod for another anvil that has one car jack in each leg. A Toyota screw car jack upside down would be ideal, cheap and sturdy. After all, the leg only takes the weight, and the strike even from a sledge is taken mostly by the mass of the anvil. 

2 hours ago, Marc1 said: