I Forge Iron

Anvil Question

Hi everyone. I'm a beginner and have acquired an anvil. I will try to post some pictures after I get home this evening. The anvil is in decent shape, but I have an issue. The hardy hole looks like it wasn't finished. On the top, there is a square indention outlined where the hole should be, and if you look under the bottom side, the hardy hole is there, just not all the way through. My question is, I want to open it up without absolutely destroying a nice anvil. Has anyone ever came across this, and what are my options? First pot, by the way. Thanks for any help.

Welcome to IFI! If you haven't yet, please READ THIS FIRST!!!

Regarding your question, we do need photos to give accurate advice. The hole may have something jammed in it, or it may be something else. Good, clear photos with something to give a sense of scale (like a quarter on the anvil face) would be helpful.

Most anvils have only a hardened top, so if the sq part is already through that then the lower sections will be easier to work.  Several people here have re-worked their hardy holes and may chime in when we can see the pictures.  Any idea as to the anvils maker or general age? (Or country of origin?)

This is not the best pic, but it's all I have on my phone. I'll take a closer one when I get home this evening and post. This anvil was gifted to me by an older gentleman along with three pair of tongs. He mounted it on a wheel drum, sitting on a piece of what he called "railroad rubber". He is now deceased, so I cannot question him. There are some weight markings on the other side, but the only marking I could find is the letter I highlighted with soapstone. If you look close, you can almost see the markings where the hardy hole should be. He obviously did a little painting on it, and I will clean that off tonight as well. I have no idea about it, and any info, points, and help is appreciated. 

IMG_7869.JPG