I Forge Iron

Newbie from Germany

Hi, guys!

I am just starting out and collecting my gear and join a smithing course for beginners soon. I was looking for active communities the whole day, since most german ones are inactive or have shut down their registration for new members.

So yeah, my goal is to create tools for survival gear in the end. 

I got my anvil, a 153kg (337lbs?) S&H from 1909, a set of tongs and a hammer. I am still looking for a 1.5kg and a 2kg hammer. 

I am still not sure if i should go for a gas or a charcoal forge. I prefer gas because it is much cheaper to come by where i live and from what I've gathered, its easier to handle. 

I attached a few pictures of what i have gathered so far. What are your opinions on the anvil? 

Have a nice day! 

20190722_164107.jpg

IMG_1563690609848_83284.jpg

20190715_142046.jpg

Have you seen the jabod threads? Mount your anvil on a stump so the face is about wrist height, some prefer knuckle height. build a jabod and you'll be forging steel before the weekend gets here. 

Pnut

Just now, pnut said:

Have you seen the jabod threads? Mount your anvil on a stump so the face is about wrist height, some prefer knuckle height. build a jabod and you'll be forging steel before the weekend gets here. 

Pnut

Hey, thanks for the advice, I'll look into the jabods. I'm thinking about using an oak trunk as a base and secure it with iron rings.

Just now, Daswulf said:

Welcome aboard. The anvil looks great. 

Thanks for having me, it cost 350€. I guess thats a pretty good deal. 

X-Measure,

Welcome to I.F.I.,

We have many German members on this forum. Knowing where you are in Germany would help them should they wish to meet you.

(I'm from Canada, now living in the U.S.A., both countries are huge).  It is a lot more informative if I post that I am located in St. Louis, Missouri.

A quickly built  'Jaybod '  forge and you should be hammering metal before the weekend.

Smithing metal is a wonderful experience.

Regards,