I Forge Iron

16 gallon oil quench tank

I'd like to use a 16 gallon Texaco oil barrel I picked on Craig's List as an oil quench tank.  I plan on using canola oil at first because most of the blades I'll be making will be 5160.  I plan on making a lid for it in case of any flash issues and to keep it clean of all the things in my shop that might want to crawl into it.  I plan on filling it up with 12 or 13 gallons of oil so it's not easily sloshed out and also plan on putting it on a mobile stand so it can be wheeled outside for quenching.  I'll preheat the oil by hanging a heated railroad spike in the barrel.  

I see a lot of guys quenching in metal tubes that seem like too little oil and too big of a chance of overheating the oil.  It seems that the steel tubes are just big enough for a quench or two at best.  So my question is if a 16 gallon metal barrel is too big?  What are the downsides of having an oil quench barrel this big?

I've been forging for several years now and want to start making edged tools, knives, and axe heads.  I made my first knife this year just to see if I could do it correctly and ended up with a nice little kitchen knife.  This experience hardly qualifies me to make knives, but I would like to start experimenting in that direction.  

First off look at McMaster-Carr quench oils, or Parks.  if you going to get that serious a sized tank you should be serious about what you are quenching in.

I have about 7 gals of 11 sec oil in my knife tank which is 14 inches or so diameter. and about 2.5 gal oil for the sword quench tank which is a 4 inch diameter steel tube.  I have never had to HT more than one sword at a time, so its fine tho I do wish it had a larger opening.