I Forge Iron

Kens Custom Hammer

beef56

I am a newbie and have been looking at a hammer from Kens Custom Iron. He is only selling a 1.75 lb cross peen at this time. I was thinking a 2 lb might  be a nice weight. Does anyone have any experience with one of his hammers?

Why that one?  If you want a hammer that costs over 100 USD, why not a Brian Brazeal style hammer from the Fiery Furnace Forge. I forget their names, but they are members here. 

As for me, I wasn’t sure if this would stick. I went the less expensive route. 

Left to right: 3lb Tractor Supply 19? USD, Irwin 2.5 lb from Lowe’s 20? USD, 48oz ball peen garage sale 50 cents, angle peen that I picked up for a quarter at a yard sale, another 3lb Tractor Supply cross peen 19? USD. The order of highest to lowest use flows left to right as well.

The garage and yard sale hammers were just rusty old heads.  The Irwin 2.5 lb cross peen had a composite handle that felt odd.   The Tractor Supply hammer handles were too thin  

A neighbor has a lot of Osage Orange on his place.  I got wood from one of the trees and cut the limbs to about 28 inch sections, split them, and put them up in a dry spot for a little over a year.

i am still trying to find what feels like an ideal shape and thickness for me.  At the moment I prefer the feel of the one second from the left  

2CDEDBE0-C8D3-4A5C-B1F3-2E652C33CDB2.jpeg.85ae0f7c8bc3aea70155e2eacb5ae359.jpeg

As someone starting out; why don't you go with a relatively inexpensive commercially available hammer until you learn what works best for you and then move up to a custom one that meets your criteria. I still have the hammer I started with, a fleamarket find for US$2; it's on it's third or fourth handle now of course it's been in use for 38 years now by me and whatever the original owner(s) put on it.