I Forge Iron

Tram cable Damascus

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to knife making, I have been playing around with blacksmithing for a long time now and am still learning all the technical things that are involved in this hobby. I have a 225,000 BTU propane forge, a 50lb Little Giant Power hammer and just about everything else except a press and a 2 x 72 belt sander.

I have acquired some Portland, OR. aerial tram cable and am trying to forge some pattern welded steel knives out of it that really show it off. I have forged the cable and folded it 625 times just to see if I could do it. It seemed to turn out ok. after a soak in muriatic acid there was no noticeable pattern. I have since had a part of the forged billet tested and the results came back that the steel is 1040. My  desire is to be able to make a knife that really shows the cable off and makes a good knife, I think that I need to add another steel that is darker and will have the same heat treating properties. I have been thinking of trying to do canister forging, this looks like fun and I think that the cable strands would show up real well or I could forge weld the cable strands with another metal and play with patterns. So now for my questions; what would be the best steel to add, whether for canister or forge welding, thoughts on carbon migration, quenching oil, acid to use, reducing fire, and anything else I have forgot.   

cable.JPG

unstraightened.JPG

straightened.JPG

forged.JPG

Knife.JPG

201905169LaughingDog.pdf

21 minutes ago, Laughing Dog Forge said:

I have forged the cable and folded it 625 times just to see if I could do it.

I am calling you on this one, If you were insane enough to actually fold it 625 you now have a very small section of mild steel that will not make a knife