I Forge Iron

Propane forge melting copper

Alright first off thank you for all the imput because im completely new to this craft. That being said i have read multiple threads to diagnose my issue with physical application to no avail. 

Here goes. I bought a single chamber fire propane foundry to melt copper and cannot achieve melting point. The foundry i purchased was beginner on amazon xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Cast Masters Propane Furnace w 5KG Crucible and Tongs Kiln Smelting Gold Silver Copper Scrap Metal Recycle  

Now i have swapped out the regulator to adjust the psi to dial it to.. at or above 10psi using a 20lbs propane tank. So far no issues with freezing ( regulator that came with product was not accurate and froze after 10 minutes of run time). 

So i can now run for a decent amount of time at a dialed amount of pressure (10psi)  but cannot achieve liquid copper. I have tried to cover the vent hole partially with the ingot mold to keep heat in. I have tried to dial my air to propane ratio in so that its a decent hot/ yellow burn no go...

The questions i have, is the insultion not adequate to refract heat? Look at amazon specs?

should i cover current insulation in refractory cement to increase temps, (reduce heat loss)

is this mini foundry just not adequate enought??

without going over board how should i modify this foundy to achieve the above problem.  ( im thinking dual flame torches)

Thank youfor your time

Joe Moss

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

4 hours ago, timgunn1962 said:

Where was the choke when you tried it?

The choke was at 1/4” open at 10psi propane. I was getting a decent flame and heating but just could not quite reach the melting point. Since i swapped out the regulator that originally came with the kit i believe im achieving a hotter burn then before. Still not sure what the issue is..

8 hours ago, jeremy k said: