I Forge Iron

Hay Budden ID/repair advice. Send help!

Hey y'all!

This is my first official post on the site, thanks for having me!

Just yesterday I bought my first anvil from a guy on Craigslist, I got it for $180 so it was a good deal in my opinion, despite the damage to it. As far as I know it's a Hay Budden, probably around 125lb (it weighs about 100lb without the heel.) there's an indication of a hardened steel plate welded to what I assume is a wrought iron base. The heel is missing, and I can't seem to find a serial number anywhere, so I would really appreciate any help identifying this beauty. Considering this is my first anvil, and I'm a newbie blacksmith at best, I don't plan on trying to repair this anvil any time in the near future. I know how you all feel about taking a grinder to an anvil face, so I won't ask, however there is a considerable amount of chipping on the face, and with a missing hardy hole, I can't easily make a striking plate either. In the eventual possibility that I need a more refined edge for forging, what repairs should I consider making?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated!

Edit: Also it appears this gal got rusted up pretty bad, and someone tried to paint over it. I don't want to risk ruining a patina that's older than I am, so I'm wondering if removing the rust and paint is worth doing, or if it's best to just leave it be. 

Thanks!

IMG-0436.JPG

IMG-0437.JPG

IMG-0438.JPG

IMG-0439.JPG

IMG-0440.JPG

IMG-0441.JPG

Flat of the face still looks good. It looks like a very usable anvil. 

I'm going to say that dressing some of the edge won't hurt the collector value. ;)

I wouldnt get too crazy with it or aggressive till you've used it a good while. Then you'll probably know better what you really need/want with it.

I believe the serial number should be on the front of the foot under the horn. 

That's a fine anvil nothing wrong with iit for a starter. I used a big old piece of rail road rail until I saved enough