I Forge Iron

New member with a junkyard Anvil. Need help restoring please

Hi all. I am a newbie here, This is my first real anvil. I found it while looking for an ASO at my local junkyard. It seemed to bounce my 8OZ ball peen very well, and was

only $22...A whopping 30 cent a pound. It is beat up but hey, gotta learn on something right...

It weighs 71 pounds, But has the Horn (bick?) broke off of it, so I think it may have originally been closer to 100 pounds. I have no clue who made it, or what it was originally supposed to look

like. If anyone could help me identify it (I know some here seem to think its a useless point,) But I think it will help me to know how it looked so I can

return it to its former glory, and a good working order. I have not wire brushed it yet, as I read here that some anvils have thin faces, and I don't wont to hurt whats left of the face.

(Another reason I was wondering who the maker is) so I know the dos and donts of the particular brand in question.

I can not find any markings on it, and it only has a hardy hole, not a pritchel hole. If that helps. 

Also being new to Anvils I don't know if any of these are normal. But It has a hole in the bottom, akin to the hardy hole, but not going all the way through. And a set of holes (one on either side as well) Again not going all the way through to the other side. 

If anyone could help me I would be much appreciative,  And I really would love to know if it would hurt it to have a bick or round stock or something of the round shape welded back to it (If I develop the skills and need for it). Thanks all in advance, Justin / AKA: Dana 1942

anvil.jpg

anvil0.jpg

anvil2.jpg

anvil3.jpg