I Forge Iron

Weight of anvil question

What is the most desirable weight for an anvil?  I have generally heard the heavier the better, but a friend of mine who knows just enough about blacksmithing to be dangerous said the smaller ones are more desirable.  Having seen a 502 pound anvil bring $3100 today at auction (and drooling the whole time, LOL!), I suspect the heavier the better.  Weight was not discussed as to the desirability or a "sweet spot" with regards to weight (not too heavy, not too light, if this even matters) in the beginner's guide to anvils thread in this section of the forum.

I like 150#. There is a lot that I can accomplish on my 88 pounder, but I also do work on spuds in my vise, offhand cold work with sheet metal dollies, etcetera. I am not a production blacksmith, but I do know that if one is forging a one-ounce workpiece, ones needs will be different from those who work hundred-pound workpieces.

See Glenn's bottom line, above.

Robert Taylor

Can you tell me how big a vehicle should I buy? Well we can't tell you what size anvil to get without some information.

500 lbs. of quality anvil would make a fine shop anvil, you sure don't want to have to move it around or take it places. 70 lbs. of good anvil is large enough to do serious work on and can be carried around by hand, carried in the car trunk even dry your boots on by the wood stove. 

We'll be happy to give our opinions but we don't know if you're going to be welding up ship's anchor chains or forging ear rings. It matters if you want a meaningful answer.

Frosty The Lucky.

Excellent sizes, I have a 125 lb. Soderfors and a 206 lb. Trenton and use them interchangeably though the Soderfors is my favorite. 

I think they'll work wonderfully for you, at least till you're skill sets exceed their capacity. 

Frosty The Lucky.