I Forge Iron

What should I make first?

I’m not sure if this is in the right section of not. Please let me know so I can put it where it needs to be.

I am brand new to this. I’m trying to figure out where I should start, and what I should make first. I have an anvil, a forge, a vise, and hammers. What tools should I start first? I have no tongs, or chisels, or anything else for that matter. 

Greetings Finn.

Just start with a simple hook.. If you use a chunk of round stock 1/4 .. 5/16 .. 3/8 ,, you won’t need tongs.. If you have a cut off hardy tool it’s good practice.. Keep trying keep trying.  No such thing as failure... After 40 plus years  at smithing I still have my first forge weld.. 

Forge on and make beautiful things 

Jim

The first tool I made some 30+ years ago was a hot cut hardy for the anvil. I needed it to cut some sucker rod. I still use that hardy to this day. Next came some tongs but I have found that tongs are easy to come by in junk shops and are easy to modify to suit the job.

My little Sister probably has the first thing I forged, I gave it to my Father and the folks kept everything we made them. My first real tool was a screw driver, #2 was a chisel. I'd recommend a chisel or several: Hot, cold, butcher and in various sizes. Sometimes you need something large other times it has to fit somewhere small. Butchers are chisels with a single bevel similar to a wood chisel but often with a radiused edge and used to define shoulders ad isolate material. I use a sharp one when I want a nice straight cut on a piece of stock. It only pinches in one direction.

A hold fast is a good thing to have too and a good beginner's tool project.

Frosty The Lucky.

Ask at the steel yard if they sell "drops", which are the cut-off scraps from custom orders. Most yards will sell these at a substantially reduced price, as will many fabrication shops.