I Forge Iron

To Dress or Not To Dress

Randwulf

I'm new to blacksmithing and have purchased an assortment of commercially available hammers.  If I was an experienced blacksmith, I would just go ahead and dress them, but I'm not.  I'd like your opinions, given that I'm a beginner, should I leave them as is and use them "off-the-shelf" for awhile or try to dress them?

20180530_175924.jpg

20180530_180214.jpg

20180530_180418.jpg

I've only been to 5 classes...Thats all the experience I have.  But I'm gonna go ahead and say, if you can dress them, do it..  I plan too, once I have  a few hammers.

Its something you/me/any rookie needs to learn sooner or later and it makes the items your forging much cleaner looking.

Don't worry about the pein ends for the most part, the radius looks pretty good but the corners could be rounded over a bit more.

On the flat face ends, you will want to round off the sharp corner edges to gradually transition from the face to the sides. Any sharp corners will leave marks in your work. Typically you don't want a perfectly flat face, a slight dome will do for most work.

Go slow with the grinding, don't overheat the faces or you will affect the hardness of the face.

Shape the handles to fit your preference. I like more of an elongated octagon shape. And I recommend burning off the varnish, leaving a light char on the wood with a coat of boiled linseed oil.

Dress them for sure.  All that rough grinding texture will be transferred to your hot metal and the sharp edges will indent your metal as well.  I always dress and then slightly polish all the hammers I acquire.