I Forge Iron

Coffee and Steel

So I’ve been roasting my own coffee for a while now.  I am no expert... but we’ve never had such terrific coffees!  I use a cast iron frying pan to roast my coffee.  I have noticed that this pan has developed a very dark and durable patina!  I clean the pan with hot water and scrub it with a piece of stainless steel chain mail after every use, as I clean my pans after cooking.  The patina persists and I wonder if it might be useful to treat smithy products with coffee?  Has anyone experimented with this?  I have not hitherto discovered a patina that seems as dark and durable as this one!  It certainly seems much more durable than any bluing that I am familiar with!

I've used instant coffee to etch the pattern on a pattern welded blade.  I tested a piece after etching and the steel could be made bright again with high grit sandpaper in fairly short order - much like bluing.  The pattern was faint but still visible after the sanding back to bright steel.  You're probably getting a deeper etch effect, and with a different base material it might take the coffee finish better as well.