I Forge Iron

How to repair a fisher vise screw

magikk

Hi everyone,after a few months and a few cans of PB blaster then Kroil penetrating oil i finally got the screws moving in the Fisher double screw vise. Unfortunately the top screw was broken in half.what would be the best way to repair this. From what I've been able to find out on the web my options are brazing it( I've been practicing but not too good yet) or weld with nickel or cast rods  but I'm not good with a stick welder.if welding would be better i may have to go to a pro and have them do it.never thought I'd get it loosens up.thanks Mike

Do you really expect useful suggestions without even posting a picture of the break? You'll get all kinds of suggestions from guys who've never held a stinger or torch let alone messed with cast. Are you sure it's cast?

Heck I don't even know what you mean by "screw." Pin, block, Male, female? 

We need to have a better idea of what you want to know to be able to offer meaningful suggestions. Without knowing more all I can suggest is have a pro do it.

Frosty The Lucky.

I didn't mean to come across so short, it's a valid question but we still need to know more to offer useful help. I blanked on one of the terms for the female threaded half, Box is right, not block.

We still need some pictures. We'll help, honest. :)

Frosty The Lucky.

Looks like it was pretty crystalized for a while before it broke, the end has been beaten down it shouldn't be shiny. Those screws take a lot of torque, I don't know how much a braze that size will take. I've been out of the welding trade a long time and things change. 

Were it mine I'd probably try brazing after talking to the guys at the welding supply about the break and the kind of stresses it'll be under. In the mean time I'd be looking for another one, maybe even pricing having one machined. 

Frosty The Lucky.