I Forge Iron

Good day at the anvil

Had a good day forging today. Here are some of the things I made or project that I completed today.

The bicken was made from the other end of the pick axe that I made the anvil saddle from.

The tenon tool was made using Bill Epps blueprint as my guide. Though the tenon holes are mostly smaller sizes. The largest drill bit I have right now is 3/8".

5998.attach

5999.attach

6000.attach

6001.attach

6002.attach

6003.attach

thats some nice nice work Larry, Im jealous, my day at the forge was productive but not nearly as nice of stuff.

hardy1.jpghooks_and_trammel1.JPGWatercan_and_Hook1.jpg

I desperately needed a hot cut hardy so this is my first attempt i used scrapyard 1x1 1/2 stock for a 1" hardy hole it looks like a piece of dung but it works so much better than a hand held chisel. the fire iron set I made a while ago but the hooks and trammel are new, and I got sick of burning my hand dousing the fire so i made a stick for my can and a hookmto hang it and my forge poker on.

Im jealous, my day at the forge was productive but not nearly as nice of stuff.

That's funny cause I almost always think everyone else's stuff is better than what I can do. I appreciate everyones support though, it makes me feel like I'm starting to "get" it.

I had replaced the handle on my "modified" hammer last week and it has been working great until tonight when the handle broke inside the hammer head on the up swing! Almost had a new hat!

I also made these towel racks for our kitchen today. Right before the hammer went flying!

6010.attach

6011.attach

6012.attach

6013.attach