I Forge Iron

Old school flux

I bumped into this article while scouring the news.  It was linked off of a story that was linked off of a recent story.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/7013766.stm

The story is of a tribe in Tanzania who are Blacksmiths by trade.  They are deemed “untouchables” by other groups but are still indispensable.  The first photo depicts a 20 year old blacksmith demonstrating how he learned to make flux.  He chews charcoal and the saliva-charcoal mixture fluxes the work.  Has anyone heard of this?  Is anyone willing to try it?

Interesting story either way.

Lou

I could see the charcoal paste working as an oxygen scavenger. Not sure what benefit (if any) there would be to the saliva, but a chewed charcoal paste wouldn't require special vessels to prepare or store.

On a related note, activated charcoal is a fairly effective remedy for food poisoning, and campfire charcoal ground up and mixed with water is a respectable field-expedient variation.

I've seen chewed charcoal used as flux in more than one 3rd. world blacksmithing videos. I've added a bit to my regular flux and at least it hasn't hurt performance. 

Speculating I see two benefits. First charcoal is an excellent oxy scavenger, you can reduce ore into iron in a charcoal fired bloomery. Been doing it for a couple thousand years now I believe. 

Then there is the effect of carbon content in steel, the higher the C% the lower the melting temperature. As the steel approaches the melting temp in a join there's a layer of almost pure carbon. I'm wondering if it isn't absorbed into the steel at the joint,  lowering the melting temp for a couple thousandths where we need  it to?

Hmmmm?

Frosty The Lucky.

Solid phase welding has 3 major factors: pressure, cleanliness  and heat. Max out any of them and you can get a weld:

Pressure: explosive welding or galling on a bolt/nut

Cleanliness: vacuum welding seen in spacecraft

Heat forge: welding