I Forge Iron

Old or New?

Hi all, I'm new to smithing and looking to get myself an anvil but with little experience in these matters I'm not sure if I should go for the older anvils off Ebay, like this ones-l225.jpg.2776b7ca07c30876418c94aba71a8b84.jpg

These seem to vary from 50kg to 150kg (110lbs-330lbs) but often the edges seem dull and its difficult to tell if it's a cast iron ASO.

Or I could go with a new one, for a similar price 50kg (110lbs) which is as heavy I can get on my budget.

I intend to use this to recreate historical weapons, starting small at 1st but eventually I would like to move on to swords etc.  and I would like to try my hand at Damascus one day.

If you can afford the new anvil then buy it. Unless its a cheap cast iron piece of junk. But you just spent all your money on an anvil. You still need a forge and tools etc.  Do as Jasent and JHCC have recomended. You can get into this cheaper that way. Ebay is a risky option for getting an anvil. You have to see it in person and test it. I bought a 16lb sledge hammer from ebay for 35usd shipped, and bored a hole in a stump to hold it and it is surprising how well it works. You have to learn basic blacksmithing skills before doing historical weapons etc.  Such as drawing out, square tapers, spreading, 90 degree square corners, punching, drifting etc. All this can be done on on a simple piece of mild steel, etc. Look for a blacksmithing group in your area. They will have more knowledge and resources then you can get on your own. And I think there might be a smith or 50 in the UK that can help.  Welcome to the addiction!

7 hours ago, Irondragon Forge & Clay said:

Do not buy an anvil through eBay... unless it is local to you and can be inspected and tested for ring & rebound. There are a lot of junk anvils listed and shipping is outrageous.