I Forge Iron

My shop progress

Ok, so I'm new to this and working on building up my blacksmithing/bladesmithing shop and wanted to document it and possibly get opinions as I go. I feel like I've got a good start at it with the tools I've picked up so far. So here is what I have so far:

A drill press: I got this for drilling pin holes mostly, but it will also be used when making my burners for the future forge.

An angle grinder: since I don't have a saw I'll be using this for cutting things. Yes I'm aware of the dangers, I am very familiar with the use of grinders as I have precision ground gears for heavy equipment with them. I also play on building a jig to use it for bevels.

A bench grinder: my plan is to get a buffing wheel for it and use it to mostly clean up my work. Honestly it was free from my father in law and I'm sure I'll find uses for it.

A plumbers vise: pretty straightforward really, clamping down my work as needed. Again this one was free, it's also not pictured below, but it is what I consider an average sized vise. 

Now for my plans. Probably today I'll be making a combination file/grinder jig to do my beveling and profiling. I still need to build a proper work bench to mount things to, but that will have to wait so I'm planning on using the table picture for now. I won't be able to mount things to it, but I plan on clamping it all down as needed.

I will be building a forge, though I'm redesigning it, and burner in the near future. I will also be making an anvil, my goal is to find a forklift fork but any large chunks of steel I find will be considered. Clearly there will be hand tools and other disks and PPE, but that's all minor for now. I even want to make my own tongs and hammers, but that's further down the road yet.

I do have some questions though. My resources for anvil material haven't found much yet, so for now could I use the anvil on the plumbers vise?

Beyond that I'm pretty happy, so if you have opinions I'm open to them.