I Forge Iron

Metal Benders

Hi everyone,

I'm just getting started in metal work and blacksmithing, and I'm thinking about buying a metal bender.  There are two benders available locally (see links and attached pics), and I'm not sure which would be the best choice. The floor mount model is $115 cheaper and appears to be more versatile, but the benchmount model appears to accept larger stock and has an adjustable work stop and angle stop for repetitive bends. Right now I'd like to make some shelf brackets and some table legs, and don't think I would exceed the capacity of the floor mount bender, but I really don't know what I'll get into in the future. 

Is one of these benders a better choice than the other?

Thanks very much.

bender 00.jpg

bender 01.jpg

Greetings Street,

Floor mount for sure... I have several including a Hossfeld... What many guys don't know is that you can weld a piece of square tube to the handle and use it in the vise vertical.. The forming dies are worth the price..  You can also make a simple bending fork for your Hardy that fits the dies..  Great tool.. 

Forge on and make beautiful things 

Jim

The floor mount is more versatile in terms of bend radius--and one can even get/make scroll attachments that fit these.  However, they are also not the most accurate in the world in terms of repeating bends or making good (sharper) 90 degree bends.  They are pretty light in the material that can realistically be formed.  (and yes, I have one)  Try and put a fairly sharp 90 degree bend into a piece of 5/16" stainless round bar with one of these and you quickly discover what they are NOT good at.

The bench mount would be great for repeatable sharp bends in bars.  I'd much rather work with this one for fabricating than the other for plain old bending.  It's a better tool all around, just more of a one trick pony.