I Forge Iron

Material for making tongs

JoeMogul

Hello!

I'm relatively new to blacksmithing and bladesmithing (I'm also a college student strapped for both time and cash, lol!), but I recently got about 20' of 3/4" mild steel square stock and wanted to start making my own tongs so I can get rid of the Harbor Freight mechanic's needlenose pliers I've been using (they're good, but I want better <shrug>).

My question is, do I have good enough material to make decent tongs, or should I look for better material? Also, any suggestions or tips on methods for making the aforementioned tongs would also be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

That 3/4" stock is fine for making tongs out of, though as a beginner you will likely be battling quite a bit to draw out the reins.  There are dozens of tong making videos online these days.  Brian Brazeal has a very good one for shaping jaws out of that stock crossection, and I think Mark Aspery does as well.  If you have access to a welder you may want to consider forging out the jaws and welding on some 3/8" round handles, at least at first.  Once you get a few pair made you may want to switch over to scarf welding on the reins, but that is a pretty tough forge weld for a beginner. 

For most beginners the bulk of the tong flaws are in the neighborhood of the boss (where the tongs get riveted together).  Invariably these are made too thin, or having sharp transitions that lead to the jaws or reins breaking off in use.  There are some good blueprints on the anvilfire site, and I wouldn't be surprised if there are some here as well, though the blueprint section here is not particularly user friendly to access.

Good luck and ask more questions as you progress.