I Forge Iron

Well hello

BubbaNash

I already started off by asking something in the Forges section, but this looks like an appropriate place to do this

My name is Matt, im in Long Beach, WA (next to Astoria, OR). Im currently a Building Inspector after being a custom home builder with the family business for about 15 years off and on. Im also a volunteer fire chief in my home town for the last 2 years (firefighting since 2004). Ive gone to school for diesel technology and completed about half of the AA Course. I can make jsut about anything out of wood and i deplore plumbing. 

Im not a smith, i simply am just starting to play at it and wont degrade proper smiths by claiming to be one. Hopefully one day i can. Ive gotten a lot of feed back already that is very positive and i much appreciate that. i know a little about a lot of things, and a lot about few things as most of us can claim. I love learning new things and im excited to learn how to smith, lord knows my town could use one. Im really a swell guy and i imagne you all are as well.

Well hey again Bubba! Good intro, you're one of those guys who'll never be a newbie to IFI you're so much like so many here. 

Here's one for you, the largest demographic of blacksmiths at least until the current forged in fire bladesmithing craze struck was wood workers who decided they could learn to forge out ad grind a special chisel, planer blade, etc. rather than spend the BIG  money for custom tools. That leads to hardware, parts, stands, decorations, etc. and next thing you know you're a blacksmith who dabbles in wood. Honest fine wood work is sort of a nursery for blacksmiths.

Frosty The Lucky.

i like the sound of that Frosty!