I Forge Iron

RandyJ

I am new to blacksmithing, and I just started to make my second forge. This one will be a significant upgrade from my last one; it was cheap and started to break down after a few uses. I am in the process of claying it, but I have no idea how deep to make my firepot. It is a bottom blast forge, has a 2 inch pipe for air supply, and uses charcoal as its fuel source. Any help will be appreciated.

Welcome aboard Randy, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many of the gang live within visiting distance. 

Bottom blast isn't the best for charcoal but it CAN be made to work. There are measurements I don't know in the "Solid fuel forge" section of Iforge. If you're scratch building a forge I highly recommend you take a look at side blast trench forges. They work much better for charcoal and work just fine for coal as well. The JABOD thread is good information and that particular forge is a proven winner. However you can just pile dirt on a table, scoop a trench and go to work. It's really dirt simple. (Sorry I just couldn't resist. I'm bad I know. :P )

Frosty The Lucky.

I would suggest you go to the solid fuel forge section and read Charles   Stevens thread, "Just a box of dirt"  and start from there. It has been very helpful to me.  Here is the link to that thread:

Also others will chime in and likely start...well nevermind.  Just the more info you can give about the type of forge you have, and it's intended use will be helpful.

4 inches is good, no less than 3. 4 inches is the depth of mine, mine is also a bottom blast.  I started with charcoal and it worked well, still use it from time to time when coke is in short supply. Put an easy to use air control on it, a slide a or similar, charcoal burns up quick if you don't switch off the air flow between heats and it doesn't need a lot of air.

good luck.