I Forge Iron

OK, I have been reading for a week or so (in my few mins of free time), and I see a huge majority of people saying don't grind, weld etc to repair edges.  My edges are leaving marks that are more unsightly and problematic, and I have a variation of the questions I've seen asked frequently...  I don't want to grind or weld to make a perfect edge, what I am trying to decide is how to blend the sharp points back so they don't gouge my work leaving "ugly" marks.  I'm thinking of using a high hardness round file to remove the sharp points inside of the chip marks and using them for different sized radius grooves for fullering and shaping.  Other than the very slight metal removal, are there any other dangers to the anvil in feathering off the sharp edges of the chips? Yes I know it's more or less an OCD question, but as a machinist I hate seeing sharp edges which concentrate stresses ...

In all reality it's your anvil, make it suit your work that you do. I don't see any problem with taking down the sharp edges. I had a rough area at the edge of the sweet spot and ground it to a radius. It has been more helpful to me there since I have other types of edge to work on around the anvil.  

You've likely come across reference to sharp edges on anvils as you have been perusing the subject here, A pew pictures would help folks provide specific answers and maybe some options too. In the abscence of any pictoral reference I'd say it certainly shouldn't be a problem reprofiling at least some edge chips, the odd 'special feature' can be a bonus without detriment to the anvil.

Yes please post some pics. Typically though we advise against grinding for those who want to "restore or repair" an anvil to sharp flat square. If the edges are effecting your work then something might need done.

You can make a bottom tool with a number of edge radii if you don't want to work on the anvil itself.