I Forge Iron

First few knives

cedarghost

I'm really new to blacksmithing and blade making. I've only been at it a couple of months. These are the first few knives I've made and the first tool I have made, a set of tongs. None of them are show worthy but I figured I'd post them up and just say hi and thanks for all the information you guys have made available here.

I built my own forge with a Frosty-style t-burner and have picked up a few tools that I could afford. I learned a ton on each of these knives, mostly what NOT to do the next time! These were all made with scrap mower blades. Maybe not the best material, but I was able to harden them and they work just fine for practice. The tongs were made with bar stock I bought at Lowe's.

Anyway, thanks for looking. Questions and feedback are definitely accepted!

FullSizeRender.jpg

IMG_2150.JPG

IMG_2221.JPG

IMG_2233.JPG

First pair of tongs, maybe not the prettiest I've ever seen, but hey if they do the job they're good and you'll have learned making them, the next pair will be better looking I'm sure.

As for the blades, they look well to me and same applies as regards function.

The handle on the first knife I think could have benefited from a little more shaping but that's probably more a matter of taste/preference, I mentioned on a previous post how I much liked that blade and it's not too late to tidy that fuller up.

All in all, you've plenty to be proud of there.

You're off to a strong start, Jeff is it? I agree, the tongs look just fine, function reigns over form, pretty doesn't hold better. I agree with Smoggy, the first knife could use some cleaning up of the fit and finish and the fuller. However it looks to be perfectly functional.

Well done all round!

Frosty The Lucky.

44 minutes ago, Smoggy said:

First pair of tongs, maybe not the prettiest I've ever seen, but hey if they do the job they're good and you'll have learned making them, the next pair will be better looking I'm sure.