I Forge Iron

I'd like some advice on an arc furnace project...

Hey guys, I'm pretty new here, but I have been fiddling with metal for a few years now.

Anyways, I'm looking into making a graphite electrode arc furnace, using a 115/230V 160amp stick welder as a power supply (65% duty cycle). I primarily want to use it to melt metals like copper and bronze (steel being a stretch goal with more experience) for casting. And I'd like to hear advice for this little project before I really get started; safety, things to look out for, etc. Suggestions on reading material would also be greatly appreciated.

Currently my prospective setup is like this:

• Outside (fume ventilation is not something I want to deal with as much)
  • 230V dryer plug for power (to allow most efficient use of my welder)
  • PPE:
    • leather apron
    • polycarbonate safety glasses
    • face shield (or welding mask/ #5 goggles, depending on how bright things get)
    • respirator (using NIOSH P100 filters)
    • welding gloves
  • I'm probably going to buy some soft refactory brick for the inner chamber, with a welded steel frame to hold it together
  • sand casting
  • Bronze and copper at first, with experience and a lot more knowledge, I might try steel at some point.
    • I don't have much interest in brass, especially with the hazards of zinc

I mostly want to do cast works, things like reproduction bronze age swords and art pieces. I have no intent to try to use this as a forge. 

I have a bit of experience with coal/charcoal forges and I've done a bit of small casting with that, but it's not very efficient, so I want to make an upgrade (and give myself a good project for winter break)

I don't know how much of you guys have dabbled with arc furnaces, but I figured it was worth a shot.

Contact an electrician and pay for his expert opinion as to the electric draw and the proper size wiring. You may want to come straight off the breaker box with a properly sized and dedicated line.