I Forge Iron

It isn't pretty

Boo68W

I started with 1/2 rebar and had no real plan in mind. I'm brand new to this and I mainly wanted to learn what not to do. In the end I came up with a coffe cup holder inspired by a phone call from girlfriend about the lack of room on her desk. IMG_3768.PNG

Some times you just gatta bash some steel, and if you come out of it with something useful all the better.

When I need to just bash some steel and don't have a plan I usually just make leaf keychains. It's one of those automatic things for me now. 

Not bad Boo. The hook needs to be opened a little more or the cup will knock loose too easily. It could also use a vigorous wire brushing while hot to remove the scale. Scale is hard enough to scratch even ceramic glazes and just a scratch is enough to start a crack and that turn into a break. 

My biggest criticism though is about it as a cup holder, it's not going to hold much coffee that way you know. Your subject had me hoping for something that clipped or clamped to the side of the desk and held her coffee cup out of the way of work. Kids these days. <sigh>

It's a good first effort and it's always a good idea to put a smile on SWMBO's face.

Frosty The Lucky.

The idea is for when she's done with the cup it can hang off of her shelf out of site. As far as the scale goes I keep forgetting about the wire brush until it's to late. 

Here's a better picture of its final resting place

IMG_3769.JPG

13 minutes ago, ausfire said:

Nice try! Probably 1/2 rebar wasn't your best choice of material. It's hard work! But the hook works well and that's the main thing.

Yeah I realized after the third swing but I was committed lol. Plus I had it kicking around and never use it so if I completely ruined it I wouldn't be heart broken. 

3 hours ago, Boo68W said:

As far as the scale goes I keep forgetting about the wire brush until it's to late.