I Forge Iron

Finally found a new to me vise

Scobb

Found this vise about 20 miles from home. Went and checked it out. Screw box is in good shape with a minor chip on the end. Functions well all original spring and bolt plate. The one thing that I think is not original is the thrust washer. This is my first one so I'm no expert. Seems to work okay the way it is but I think I'm going going to make a new thrust washer.....eventually. I did have to do some tweaking on the spring to get it to work properly. Yet another piece of yard art saved.  I have no idea the brand so if anyone knows that would be awesome too. The jaws are 5" and I'd guess she weighs about 65-70#

Sam

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

Any wear on the screw?  I've seen large washers used to shift the wear point on a well used screw to a fresh area.  (also the one recently shown where a replacement screw/screwbox needed to be spaced out so the handle missed the projection right above it.)

There is some damage to the screw the last thread (farthest from the handle) is broke off. 

Other than that the threads look to be in great condition. It was filled with grease so it got a aggressive cleaning and I touched it up with some penetrating oil. 

2 minutes ago, Daswulf said:

cant help on brand but if it works use it. 

You should really discipline your bench vise. It's leg biting could be jealousy of your new post vise. 

Haha. Somewhat ironic a vise holding a vise. But that sucker is to heavy to be flopping around everywhere lol. 

3 minutes ago, ThomasPowers said:

Looks VERY different to me as your vise has beveled legs at that ad vise does not!

And that my friend is exactly why I come here. Touché