I Forge Iron

Hello to all!

Hello everyone, long time lurker, first time poster. I figured I would go ahead and introduce myself to everyone here and say hi. I'm a beginning backyard hobbyist in Madison, AL, and have been making noise and fire scale for a few months now, but have always been fascinated by the craft. I have taken two classes in Athens through the Athens State Center for Lifelong Learning (beginning blacksmithing and blacksmith project) and had a blast.

Welcome to the addiction! Lots of good info and good folks on this site. If you ever get over to Ole Miss check out the Ms Ag and Forestry Museum in Jackson. The Ms forge council meets there the third Sat of every month at 9am. Its a cool old smithy reconstructed from another site in Ms and is now part of the living history museum. There are eight forges, anvils, post vises etc., basically eight full work stations in the smithy so plenty of room to get in the fire if you decide to come down.

I am currently using a 4 inch round of mild steel about 7 inches long or so that is set into a 7 inch thick layer of cured sweetgum wood set on a large oak stump. Its not anywhere near the best of the most efficient, but its better than nothing and it came for free from work, so that's a plus. I have been eyeballing the Fort Vause London pattern anvils (the 80lb 4140 version) and some of the farrier style anvils based on price, since I haven't seen a whole lot in this area in my price range ($300-$400ish max). I have actually been to the Athens meeting location before, but never seem to be able to keep my days straight as to when meetings are and what's what, and the websites aren't super helpful and updated regularly.

I suggest you email Travis and ask, he is a good guy!

http://www.athensforge.com/index.html