I Forge Iron

Looking for advice on draw knife

Buzzkill

So, I got a wild hair last weekend and decided to build a wood lathe, mostly out of parts I had after upgrading my belt grinder.  The only experience I have turning wood is the couple pieces I did when I got it functional.  Now I'm thinking I need to forge some tools to help out there, and a draw knife is one thing I thought might help with the rough shaping before I put pieces on the lathe.  I've got some O1 drill rod, plenty of coil spring and leaf spring, and some old files I could use.  Since I have no experience here I'm looking for advice/preference on those starting metals and any tips, tricks, or pitfalls I should be aware of before I start shaping hot steel.  I'll also be making some turning tools so any advice related to those will be appreciated as well.

Last turning tool I worked on was designed to hold carbide lathe inserts for interior turning of hollow forms.  The turner came to me with the request for certain bends in the shaft of the tools.  I stuck some stock in the forge, got it hot, placed the hot end in the postvise and told him to grab the cold end and bend it to his requirement.  He over bent it so I told him to grab it and unbend it...Next weekend I sold him his own anvil...

I'd suggest learning to forge and get experience in how to work and move metal before working on a higher carbon steel project; most suggestions I could make wouldn't help much till you had the background and the frustration level can be high when projects fail for reasons you can't figure out.

Make sure to temper the handles well, I didn't do that on my first one, and one of the handles broke off. or just don't harden the handles, but that can sometimes be difficult, or attempt to not harden the handles, and go ahead and temper them just to be safe. there's many ways to skin a cat

Littleblacksmith

Thanks for the input.