I Forge Iron

New to forum

Just saying hi, I've been skulking through the forums for a couple months as my interest in blacksmithing comes and goes, but I've never acted on it.  It's something that's always fascinated me, but the up front investment(and my hobby ADD) has made me hesitant.  Now History is on a smithing show kick, and the bug is biting me to try to get started again.  I'm hoping to really get into it after the Highland Games in June are done, but wanted to say hi at least.  Ya'lls posts are fun to read, and it seems like you have a great tight-knit community here :)  

Welcome aboard, glad to have you. Wait till AFTER the Highland Games!? WASSAMATTAYOU? There's no time like the present to get started. The Association of Alaskan Blacksmiths next meeting is: May 14th. in Palmer at Pat Garley's. There are a number of Anchorage members you can probably hitch a ride with so you don't have to read directions on the way. And heck they're good guys and might even light a fire with a little bitty excuse.

Of course you could take a drive in Alaska's scenic wonders and come play in my shop, I'm on the far edge of Wasilla from you on Vine Rd. just off the Parks around mp. 47 hang a left or get directions, taking the KGB is easier though no closer. It's a temporal short cut, fewer lights.

Oh yeah, We're having a Mark Aspbery workshop June 11th, 12th and a short day the 13th. This is a biggy for us and a little spendy to attend if you're a beginner. Not saying don't come but it might be pretty advanced for a beginner. We'll be making some tooling at the next meeting to get a head start on the workshop but that is good beginner project material. Punches, chisels, tongs and I'm not sure what other tools, Tristan has a list I believe.