I Forge Iron

300 lbs of coal, what should I do with it?

New guy here,

I went out and mined 300 lbs of low grade anthracite coal and its sitting in my basement. I would like to do something fun with it, but im not sure what.

I have never done anything like this before. I would like to melt steel but what do i make my forge and crucible out of that will take the heat?

Should I start with something simple like melting cans? Can I make a good crucible out of fire cement? I was also thinking about making aluminum bronze since I have a lot of aluminum and copper lying around, good idea or no?

What should I make/cast? Knife, wheel, trinket, tool? 

How should I go about making a coal forge/foundry that will take the heat? Everything on YouTube is charcoal, propane, or diesel/kerosene.

TLDR: Lots of coal, don't know what to do with it, looking for project ideas.

Also I'm a Welding Engineer if you have any welding questions

If you need to ask then you ARE NOT ready for HOT liquid metals. Way too many things that can and most likely will go wrong in the process.

Auto parts are cast, but they have other things mixed in with the metal. magnesium is one. I got out of the casting game the day I HAD to implement PLAN B in order to stay safe.

AT a minimum I would recommend reading all you can. DO NOT depend on youtube for accurate or complete information. Find a person in your area or take classes to gain knowledge. IF it feels wrong, do not do it and quickly walk away to a new zip code. HOT liquid metal is not nice and is very unforgiving.

As far as the 300 pounds of coal, build a solid fuel forge and be happy. Anthracite coal can be used as a forge fuel but required constant air flow to stay on fire.