I Forge Iron

another new guy question, heat treating

So I have been making knives for a few years now, mostly stock removal and just looking into forging them (coal forge and hammer). I know when I get the blade down close to the size and general shape I put it in my propane forge until non magnetc (1084 steel) and need to quench the metal after heating (I use Transmission oil). I have been looking at the forum for some time and I never see anything about quenching or heat treatment. I know when I pull the metal out of the forge for knife making the steel is brittle until I temper it. Do you guys temper your stuff (projects, tools etc)> and if you do how are you doing it? 

The few tongs, and non cutting tools that I have made were not quenched, just a stress relief. The cutting tools that I made were normalized, quenched and tempered at the forge.

Give the tool a brushing right after quenching, then heat and watch the oxide colors. The most fascinating temper that I have done is an edge quench, brush, then let the heat from the unquenched part of the steel run to the edge for the temper. Lots of reading available on different techniques.

Well all the stuff I make from mild steel doesn't get heat treated; all the stuff I make from medium to higher carbon steel does even if it's just a desert normalization.  It strongly depends on the alloy and the intended use and the preferences of the user.  Like I didn't heat treat the set of Titanium tongs I forged  and did heat treat the H13 slitting chisel I forged.

Frosty Sorry to have asked such dumb questions that you answered.    Ill keep my mouth shut from now one. Have a great one.

Your question wasn't "dumb" I just responded in kind to your reply.

No need to be a stranger, If I don't tick you off or or vise versa we aren't interacting enough. I'm a TBI survivor and don't have the filters I used to so my responses can be more . . . Whatever than necessary.

Have whatever kind of day you wish.

Frosty The Lucky.