I Forge Iron

Diamond backs iron works gas oven

Seth O

I am new to blacksmithing and i had my mind all set on a coal forge from Centaur forge. Now keep in mind i have no tools to build a forge of any king or else i would. I was doing some research on coal vs gas forges and i am reading that gas forge is the way to go. I read all the pros and cons and decided that a gas forge would be better suited for my area. So my question is what company makes good gas forges? I found one company called Diamond backs iron works. Here is the link at the one gas forge i am interested in http://www.diamondbackironworks.com/catalog/item/2754775/4071482.htm what do you guys think.

I'm sure some of out more experienced gas users will be able to give more answers but I know of NCTool and Chile forges. Both are supposed to be good. Why buy one though? If you've got basic tools you can build the body and then buy or build burners to suit. A good thing about building yourself is its not gonna cost $600 and if it ever breaks you know how to fix it.

Honestly, you can build a better propane forge for the same or less money.  It doesn't take any fancy tools to bend sheet metal and screw it together with self-tapping screws.  

While I agree that propane is a lot easier/faster/cheaper than running a coal forge (unless you live near a coal supplier), most commercially-made propane forges leave a lot to be desired.  They certainly work, but the drawbacks are there, too.

The number one problem I've seen with all of the commercial forges is the lack of insulation.  I'm currently running a Majestic forge and it's the absolute worst for insulation.  You can temper blades by leaving them sit on the top of the forge!

I definitely agree with buying a quality burner like the JF1, but the forge body can be put together for little more than the cost of the insulation.  Something to think about....