I Forge Iron

Forging a boline/sickle

Derek C.

Hello - I am trying to forge a boline (small handheld sickle) for someone, however I'm new to bladesmithing and smithing in general. Since this blade has a substantial curve, and will be beveled/sharpened on the inside edge of the curve, I am not sure how to retain the curvature of the blade while forging the bevel.

I'm starting with a 1x6x1/4" piece of Cur Forge V, which gives me a lot of metal to work with, and will require thinning out quite a bit. For starters, I'm working the entire taper of the blade from one side, which is putting a nice curve on the blade so far. When I go to forge the bevel, I am wondering if I should start at the inside of the curve and work back, or start at the outside and work in. I am thinking that if I start from the inside, and forge the bevel with my hammer face the beveling will straighten the blade somewhat, but once I get past the center and start thinning the spine that should put some curve back in to it. Does that make sense? Any other suggestions? Should I use the cross pein perpendicular to the blade to thin the spine out to ensure I move more metal along the spine rather than back towards the edge? I've attached a picture of the general shape I am going after.

Thanks!

You do need to keep in mind flipping the blade over to work both sides of the bevel, or you will have a suprise in heat treat.    If you cant figure out how to straighten or curve a bar of steel, then I fear you have an up hill battle ahead of you.  There is no way I can tell you what you need to know in a single post.  Read the knife making classes before you get to far into it, and in a few months you may have a knife shaped object. good luck

Not forging the bevel seems the simplest way to go.  Forge a straight bar to your general shape (no curve) and as thin as you can.  Form the curve and then take out all of the wrinkles.  File or grind the edge about 50% to thickness and HT.  File or grind to sharp.