I Forge Iron

My First Forge! Suggestions tips trick and all the above are welcome.

msropp2

post-52554-0-84234600-1395184719_thumb.j First time I started the forge

post-52554-0-37456200-1395184804_thumb.j Stand, Forge, and Air supply

post-52554-0-48582500-1395185024_thumb.j Moved forge into my shop piece of 1/2 rebar inside, also a picture of my anvil

post-52554-0-38244200-1395185085_thumb.j First pair of tongs I made, made the hole to big but think I can still get them to work.

post-52554-0-10654000-1395185176_thumb.j Overall of my work area, used to be and old smoke house out back behind my house from the civil war. I would like to build a more permanent forge and use the chimney in the background to draw the smoke up and away! 

post-52554-0-28772300-1395185321_thumb.j Close up of my actual forge does well heating up metal, burns coal up pretty fast.

Any suggestions tips or tricks are welcome please speak your mind. I am new to blacksmithing but I love it! Thanks for looking!

• I suspect that you will want to work out a stock rest to help hold up long steel pieces as they are sitting in the fire heating up on one end.
  • At some point you will want to heat up the middle of a long bar and will be wanting a hole in the far side of the forge so the bar can hang out both sides.
  • I suspect the chimney is too small for a forge. It looks to be a 6" chimney opening. If is bigger past the opening you can enlarge the opening it to get the maximum draw out of it. 10" to 12" chimney diameter is normal for a forge chimney. I have heard of people using a blower to help the draw of a small chimney so it might be made to work.
  • Your first pair of tongs looks better than my first pair.

Years of enjoyment await you. Forge away!

Welcome aboard, glad to have you. If you put your general location in the header you might be surprised at how many of the IFI gang live within visiting distance.