I Forge Iron

Joinery Question

steveguilmette

Hi all. This is my first post, I'm pretty new to blacksmithing, I've been at it about six months. I need to join this scroll to this backplate (mockup shown). I would like to do this without a visible weld. Typically in other work I see these riveted but I am unable to get a long enough rivet into the joint. I suppose I could open it up, slip the rivet in, and then reform the scroll, is that typical?

I also thought of punching a hole in the backplate and rosette welding the scroll from behind.

The scroll is 3/8 round and the backplate is 3/16 thick.

Any other suggestions/examples?

Thanks a lot,

Steve

20140128_201239.jpg

Hi all. This is my first post, I'm pretty new to blacksmithing, I've been at it about six months. I need to join this scroll to this backplate (mockup shown). I would like to do this without a visible weld. Typically in other work I see these riveted but I am unable to get a long enough rivet into the joint. I suppose I could open it up, slip the rivet in, and then reform the scroll, is that typical?

I also thought of punching a hole in the backplate and rosette welding the scroll from behind.

The scroll is 3/8 round and the backplate is 3/16 thick.

Any other suggestions/examples?

Thanks a lot,

Steve

For future reference, Round bar onto a flat plate is not a good choice for securely mounting a scroll, you really need a flat contact area. 

If you had flattened and punched the area it would give a better mounting for rivetting

In the situation shown my choice would be to file a flat on the contact area, drill through and countersink the backplate and drill and tap through the scroll, then cut off screw when in situ and file off to blend into bar, or alternatively leave screw longer and fit a ball nut

There are two main functions for a scroll, to add strength and to look aesthetically pleasing as you move past the item.